Eighth Edition of the Orange Festival of Adventure and Music (OFAM)

Eighth Edition of the Orange Festival of Adventure and Music (OFAM)

Nestled within the awe-inspiring landscapes of Arunachal Pradesh, where sinuous roads beckon adventure enthusiasts, the Rally of Arunachal 2023, a collaborative effort between the Department of Youth Affairs, the Government of Arunachal Pradesh, Motorsports Club of Arunachal, JK Tyre, and the Army Wives Welfare Association of the Spear Corps of the Indian Army, seamlessly intertwined the thrill of motorsports with the natural wonders and cultural richness of the region. In sync with the renowned Orange Festival of Adventure and Music, in its Eighth Edition, the rally commenced under the auspices of the honourable Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh, Pema Khandu, marking the evening of December 14th as the inauguration. “Our partnership with the Indian Army and JK Tyres has meant a great deal. The rally would help in further boosting tourism in the state.”

From December 14th to 16th, an extraordinary spectacle unfolded as participants for the rally took the wheel, fearlessly navigating the challenging 400-kilometer route through the picturesque districts of Lohit, Lower Dibang Valley, Dibang Valley, and Namsai. This rare rally not only showcased the skill and prowess of the drivers but also unfolded against the backdrop of Arunachal Pradesh's breathtaking scenery.

The rally's journey began in the historic district of Lohit, inviting participants to embrace the tranquil ambiance and savor the flavors of seasonal fruits, including the renowned oranges and pineapples. The expedition continued through Lower Dibang, a district known for its pristine air and untouched greenery, providing a refreshing experience for both drivers and spectators.

As the rally slowed down in Dibang Valley, participants seized the opportunity to explore the namesake Dibang Wildlife Sanctuary, a haven for rare and rich wildlife. Notably, in the 2000s, a new species of flying squirrel was discovered in this district, adding a touch of discovery to the adventure. The journey culminated in Namsai, nestled along the banks of the river Teang, where participants enjoyed a final rendezvous with the magnificent golden Pagoda.

The Winners of the rally held in three categories are as follows:

Overall Sub-Event

Neeraj Kumar and co-driver Ashish Deshwal (first position)

Amrinder Singh and co-driver Rangeet Singh (second)

Maj Jaya Mehta and c-driver Gulshan Mehta (Third)

Saurab Bisht and co-driver Prashant Kumar (Fourth)

Amardeep Kaur and co-driver Jyoti Yadav (Fifth)

All-Women Rally

Maj. Jaya Mehta and co-driver Gulshan Mehta (First)

Amandeep Kaur and co-driver Jyoti Yadav (Second)

Sneha Taneja and co-driver Mahesh Taneja (Third) 

The Outstanding Army Cup

Neeraj Kumar and co-driver Ashish Deshwal (First)