Jio-bp charging network joins Kia's MyKia app
The companies say K-Charge now offers access to more than 23,500 charging points, including Jio-bp's network. Kia's 125 operational dealership DC fast chargers will be added progressively to Jio-bp's app.
Dealership chargers to follow on charge pro
Jio-bp and Kia India have announced an integration that allows Kia EV customers to access Jio-bp pulse charging stations through K-Charge within the MyKia app.
The companies say Jio-bp's network of more than 7,000 charging points across over 1,100 sites in more than 300 cities takes the charging points accessible through K-Charge to over 23,500 nationwide.
The announcement concerns access to existing charging infrastructure through the app. It does not represent the installation of 23,500 new chargers, and Jio-bp's points are included in the platform total rather than additional to it.
Customers can discover chargers, navigate to locations, start and monitor charging sessions and make payments within the apps, according to the October 16 announcement.
The reverse integration is still being rolled out. Kia's 125 operational dealership DC fast chargers, along with future additions, will be made available progressively through the Jio-bp pulse charge pro app. The companies have not specified when all those chargers will be accessible there.
“For EV owners, range anxiety is often not just about charger availability, but about knowing whether the next charger will be operational,” said Akshay Wadhwa, chief executive of Jio-bp.
Jio-bp says its network includes DC chargers rated from 60kW to 480kW. Those ratings do not establish the charging speed available to every vehicle or session, which also depends on the vehicle and operating conditions.
The companies have not disclosed integration fees, customer tariffs or a commercial revenue-sharing arrangement. The announcement also does not establish whether pricing through K-Charge will always match direct charging through Jio-bp's app.