CNBC TV18 Honours Late Mr Vikram Kirloskar with 'In Memoriam Award'

CNBC TV18 Honours Late Mr Vikram Kirloskar with 'In Memoriam Award'
The Late Mr Vikram Kirloskar

Bangalore, May 12, 2023 - Toyota Kirloskar Motor (TKM) is humbled to announce that its esteemed Ex Vice Chairman, Late Mr Vikram Kirloskar, has been posthumously honoured by CNBC-TV18 India Business Leader Awards (IBLA). The 18th anniversary of IBLA was conducted on 11th May 2023 at the Jio Centre in BKC, Mumbai.

Honourable Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas & Housing and Urban Affairs Shri. Hardeep Singh Puri presented the award, thus acknowledging his pathbreaking contribution towards modernising India’s manufacturing sector and exceptional leadership in the Indian automobile industry.

With an illustrious career spanning over 35 years in the automotive industry, the late Mr Vikram Kirloskar played a pivotal role in steering TKM to become one of the key players in the Indian automotive market. His visionary leadership and unwavering commitment to excellence have been instrumental in the company's remarkable success and sustained growth. Furthermore, as a strong advocate of “Make in India” and “Skill India” missions, several strategic business decisions were undertaken by the company thus manifesting his belief in establishing India as an epicentre for global manufacturing.

As a firm believer in creating the best value for the entire ecosystem, the late Mr. Kirloskar was instrumental in initiating several programs for Community development at the grassroots level thereby contributing to “Nation Building” goals while having a clear focus on “Creating a better world”. He was also a promoter of Sustainable Development and believed that competitiveness is at the heart of sustainability.

Expressing gratitude, Manasi Tata, Vice Chairperson, Toyota Kirloskar Motor, said “Visionary leadership, humility and an unwavering commitment to excellence by the Late Mr Vikram Kirloskar has certainly left an indelible mark in the Indian manufacturing sector. He always believed in putting India first and growing with the country which has helped us achieve several milestones in TKM’s glorious 25th year of operations in India. As we accept this award on his behalf, we are inspired to continue his legacy, driving positive change, and shaping the future of mobility. As a visionary leader, he has laid a path for us towards creating a more beautiful & sustainable world for future generations."

A mechanical engineer from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the Late Mr Kirloskar served as President of SIAM and President of the Confederation of Indian Industries (CII). He also played a vital role at the National Council for Electric Mobility in addition to being the President of the Automotive Research Association of India.

Along with the Late Mr Vikram Kirloskar, the Late Mr Rakesh Jhunjhunwala and Late Mr Cyrus Mistry were also honoured at the ceremony. The jury panel consisted of stalwarts like Kumar Mangalam Birla - Chairman, Aditya Birla Group, Uday Kotak - CEO, Kotak Mahindra, Sanjiv Mehta - Chairman and MD of HUL, Zarin Daruwala - CEO of Standard Chartered Bank, Dinesh Khara - Chairman of SBI, Adar Poonawala - CEO of SII, Rajiv Memani - Chairman of E&Y, V Vaidyanathan - MD of IDFC & Prabha Narasimhan - MD of Colgate.